Do you need to keep the contents of two folders allways up to date?
Synchrotron merely replaces older files from these folders
–identical files are not copied again. It does not matter, if the
folders are located on your computer, on a network share or on an FTP
If you've got a notebook and want to have your personal files and
projects on your home computer, too, you could copy the folders contents
entirely, which would just be time consuming. By the time you change
different files in both folders, you would have to copy them by hand.
This task is done by Synchrotron.
You can use your files on two computers at the same time and easily
transfer them back to the other computer after you finished editing them.
Synchrotron uses the file's last modification time to find the
most recent version and transfer it into the other folder. In this time
you can attend to other duties.
Newly created files will be transferred to the other folder
automatically. Files, which you deleted in one folder, will be removed
from the other folder, too.
If you want to see, which files will be included in a synchronisation,
Synchrotron offers a file list, in which you can change the copy
method for every single file. You might as well exclude files and folders
from the synchronisation process.
The FTP uploader
A new feature of this version of Synchrotron is the possibility
to use folders on FTP servers. If you got yourself a homepage, you can
edit it on your computer at home and then use Synchrotron to
upload it to the server with a single click.
If you want to use a local folder as your homepages offline version, so
you can activate the write protection for this folder. So files will be
transferred to the server only, they will not be downloaded anymore.
If you upload files to the FTP folder with Synchrotron only,
you can activate the internal folder management. Then
Synchrotron will not read the folder's contents every time,
but assume they have not been changed since the last synchronisation.
This accelerates the process considerably. If you changed the files
manually however, you can easily force Synchrotron to read the
folder's contents via menu.
Differences to the registered version
There are two version of Synchrotron. The light variant has all
the functionality and can be used as long as you want. It does support
only five projects though and restricts the number of entries in each one
of them. The full version does not have this limitations. The light
variant can be activated with a registration key.
- Synchronise both folders, or just one of them
- Identical files will not be copied
- Deleted files will be deleted in the other folder, too
- You can edit the actions to be taken for every single file
- Support for local folders, network shares and FTP servers
- Possible exclusion list to ignore specific files
- Optional write protection for folders you don't want to change
- Optional internal mangement of folder contents